Contoh Saying And Action Verb

Saying Verbs

Saying verbs are words used to indicate speaking (hence the name). They are often used when a writer wants to use an alternative for the word ‘said’ in their speech tags for direct speech. They can provide more information as to how things are being spoken.

E.g. “Get out!” she screamed.

“Make me,” he fumed.

”No,” he laughed.

”No!” he shouted.

”No!” he cried.

”No,” he sighed.

A wide variety of saying verbs can be the hallmark of a good writer who is providing necessary information. They can also indicate an inexperienced writer who is trying too hard. Use as needed but beware of overuse.

Action Verbs

Action verbs are verbs that show the performance of an action. They are dynamic verbs that show something happening.

There are regular and irregular action verbs.

For example:

Regular Verbs Simple Past / Past Participle Spelling Rules

The simple past tense is formed by adding -ed to the end of the verb.  However there are several rules depending on the spelling of the verb, these are:-

If the base of the verb ends in:-

  • -e only add -d (raid – raided)
  • a consonant plus -y the y is turned into -ied (study – studied / try – tried)
  • -c add -ked (panic – panicked)
  • a single vowel plus a consonant and is stressed on its final syllable the consonant is usually doubled and -ed added (plan – planned)
  • -p, g or -m the consonant is usually doubled and -ed added (ram – rammed / tap – tapped / gag – gagged)
  • -l the consonant is usually doubled (travel – travelled)

Regular Verbs                                                                                                          

Base Form To walk
Present Simple I walk every day.
Present Progressive/Continuous I am walking.  (now)
Present Perfect Simple I have walked twice so far today.
Present Perfect Progressive/Continuous I have been walking for 2 hours.
Past Simple I walked yesterday.
Past Progressive/Continuous I was walking yesterday when I saw a bear.
Past Perfect Simple I had walked for five miles by the time I got home.
Past Perfect Progressive/Continuous I had been walking for 2 hours when I saw the bear.
Future Simple I will go for a walk tomorrow.
Future Progressive/Continuous I am walking tomorrow.
Future Perfect Simple I will have already gone for a walk by the time I meet my friends.
Future Perfect Progressive I will have been walking for 2 hours by the time I meet my friends.

Irregular Verbs

The only rule is that there are no rules for the spelling of irregular verbs, they have to be learnt. Sorry!

For example:-

 

To run

Present Simple I run every day.
Present Progressive/Continuous I am running.  (now)
Present Perfect Simple I have run twice so far today.
Present Perfect Progressive/Continuous I have been running for 2 hours.
Past Simple I ran yesterday.
Past Progressive/Continuous I was running yesterday when I saw a bear.
Past Perfect Simple I had run for five miles by the time I got home.
Past Perfect Progressive/Continuous I had been running for 2 hours when I saw the bear.
Future Simple I will go for a run tomorrow.
Future Progressive/Continuous I am running tomorrow.
Future Perfect Simple I will have already gone for a run by the time I meet my friends.
Future Perfect Progressive I will have been running for 2 hours by the time I meet my friends.

There is a list of irregular verbs here.

Tinggalkan komentar